When you face criminal charges, you will not only pay fines, damages and the like, but chances are you will also face some jail time. Your license may also be permanently stripped from you. In other words, this can change your life dramatically. Plus, if found guilty after trial, you will have a permanent criminal record. That will not vote well when you are trying to find a job especially today when jobs are lacking.
It is important to act in a timely manner after your arrest for many reasons. An experienced best family law attorney near me will be able to address your questions and any others specific to your case. Delay in getting an attorney can have negative effects and can cause further problems including increased costs, license suspension or jail time.
Is there any evidence or resource available to you to help prove you were not intoxicated and that, based on the circumstances you have, you should not be punished? What can you do to prove your case?
Let’s say that worst case scenario you are not going to get the charge dropped. There is still hope because a good attorney can get fines reduced among other things. They can also make deals with the prosecutor which you obviously wouldn’t be able to do by yourself. Try asking the prosecutor to lessen the length you will lose your license and see what they say.
The second offense fines go up to as much as $1,000, the chance of jail time is greater, license suspensions increase and offenders must have a ignition interlock device, a breathalyzer-like tool that will not let a car start if it detects alcohol levels above a pre-determined level.
You will have to be very careful while hiring a dui lawyer in Massachusetts. You obviously do not want to end up with hiring someone who is inexperienced or is way too expensive. You need to keep in mind a lot of things while hiring a dui lawyer in Massachusetts, so that you can get yourself out of the trouble without spending too much of amount.
For the first DUI offenses in RI, you can find yourself in jail for up to a year and/or fines of $500, from 10 to 60 hours of community service, driver’s license suspension of between 3 and 18 months, and mandatory drunk driving courses. The penalties are wide ranging, and often depend on blood alcohol levels, as well as the events leading up to the arrest. But they can also depend on how well your attorney handles your case.
Step 5 – Once you’ve gathered a large list of candidates, pick out your top three and call each one to set up a meeting. Many law firms will offer the initial consultation as a free service. Use this as an opportunity to see how well you and the attorney interact with one another, and bring a list of questions for them to address. Relay all the details surrounding the case to better provide them with a good idea of what they will be dealing with, and take notes pertaining to how they plan to handle the case.